First| Previous| 1 of 2 Items| Next| Last| List All

Programme of a Covent Garden Opera Trust State Peformance at the Royal Opera House Covent Garden to mark the visit of Vincent Auriol the President of The French Republic, 9 March 1950

Collection: Nadia Nerina Collection
Reference code: ROH/NER/4/1
Date: 9 March 1950
Date notes: Programme is dated.
Level: Item
Extent: 1 eight page programme
Scope and content: Gala programme listing the evening's programme of performances as 'Symphonic Variations', 'Façade', and 'The Sleeping Beauty Act III' and concluding with La Marseillaise and God Save the King. Nadia Nerina performed in 'The Sleeping Beauty Act III' with Pamela May as Florestan's Sisters and Kenneth MacMillan as Florestan. The front and back cover is designed by Oliver Messel depicting a front cover scene of the auditorium of the Royal Opera House framed by foliage, swags and crowns and the initials GR and RF. The back cover depicts the character Puss In Boots. The inside covers and main page of the programme are signed by members of the Sadler's Wells Ballet.
Dimensions: length 39.5 cm; width 28 cm
Condition: Good. 
Related work: Symphonic Variations
The Sleeping Beauty