Anastasia (one act)

First| Previous| 38 of 63 works| Next| Last| List All

Ballet: Work details

Choreographer: Kenneth MacMillan
Scenario: Kenneth MacMillan
Composer: Bohuslav Martinů
Music title: Fantaisies Symphoniques (Symphony No. 6) (1953)
Composer: Fritz Winckel
Music title: Electronic music (title unknown)
Composer: Rüdiger Rüfer
Music title: Electronic music (title unknown)
Work definition: Ballet in one act
Notes: This is MacMillan's original 'Anastasia', a one-act work created in 1967 for the Berlin Ballet. It became the third act of his three-act ballet, created in 1971 for The Royal Ballet. The electronic music was produced by the Studio of the Technical University of West Berlin.
World premiere: 25 June 1967, Deutsche Oper Ballet, Deutsche Oper, Berlin
ROH premiere: 8 May 1986, The Royal Ballet
ROH company premiere: 8 May 1986, The Royal Ballet, Royal Opera House, Covent Garden, London
Related work: Anastasia (three acts)
Anastasia (one act) (1986) The Royal Ballet (1 performance online)